Traffic Tickets in Alabama are Criminal Misdemeanors per the Alabama Code and are NOT Civil Violations.

Traffic Tickets in Alabama are Criminal Misdemeanors per the Alabama Code and are NOT Civil Violations.
Many times people have the misconception in Alabama that a traffic ticket is a civil violation and not a criminal misdemeanor. It is very clear from the Alabama code that a traffic ticket or traffic violation in Alabama is a criminal misdemeanor as you can see below. The statute covering the penalties is noted below and indicates very clearly the punishment for the misdemeanor violations.

To the amazement and disbelief of many of our potential clients and clients even on a first traffic ticket you can be sentenced to up to 10 days in jail. Of course, this is a rare occurrence but it is always an option for the judge at sentencing as you can see below .

If you or someone you love has been charged with a traffic ticket in Alabama, you need to hire a traffic defense lawyer. We have handled thousands of cases throughout the entire state of Alabama and are here to help you. Please contact us to begin the conversation about your case. (866) 348-2889.

ALA. CODE § 32-5A-8 (1975)

Alabama Statutes Title 32. MOTOR VEHICLES AND TRAFFIC Chapter 5A. RULES OF THE ROAD Article 1. General Provisions Current through 2013-443 of the 2013 Legislative Session § 32-5A-8. Violations as misdemeanor; penalties (a) It is a misdemeanor for any person to violate any of the provisions of this chapter or of Title 32, unless such violation is by this chapter or other law of this state declared to be a felony. (b) Every person convicted of a misdemeanor for a violation of any of the provisions of this chapter for which another penalty is not provided, shall for a first conviction thereof be punished by a fine of not more than $100.00 or by imprisonment for not more than 10 days; for conviction of a second offense committed within one year after the date of the first offense, such person shall be punished by a fine of not more than $200.00 or by imprisonment for not more than 30 days or by both such fine and imprisonment; for conviction of a third or subsequent offense committed within one year after the date of the first offense, such person shall be punished by a fine of not more than $500.00 or by imprisonment for not more than three months or by both such fine and imprisonment. Cite as ALA. CODE § 32-5A-8 (1975) History. Acts 1980, No. 80-434, p. 604, §14-101.

Post Your Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *